



Department of Mechanical Engineering (*Established: 1921*)

Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur

https://centenaryiiestmech.org/



Department of Mechanical Engineering

(Centenary Year: 2021)



Open Invitation by the Centenary Celebration Committee

The Department of Mechanical Engineering completes 100 years of existence in 2021. The department has been planning for a series of events, mostly in online mode, which are to take place over the next few months to celebrate the centenary year. A Centenary Celebration Committee has been formed including departmental faculty members and selected alumni to coordinate various activities as part of the centenary celebration. There will be a Centenary Lecture Series and the weekly invited lectures will be given by speakers (including department's alumni) from industrial organizations as well as educational and research institutes.

A few research workshops are also proposed to be organized by different student chapters attached to the department (viz. ASME, IMechE, SAE and ISHRAE) over the next 3-4 months covering various domains of Mechanical Engineering. Also, the student society of the department (Society of Mechanical Engineers, SME) has planned for their annual technical fest, IMPETUS 5, to coincide with the celebration.

The inaugural event will be held on 28th December 2021, Tuesday (4 pm onwards) to mark the beginning of the centenary celebration. On the same day, we will have the first Centenary Lecture, immediately after the inauguration. Links to the online inaugural event and the weekly Centenary Lectures will be shared through the event website (<u>https://centenaryiiestmech.org/</u>), institute and departmental web pages and also through social media posts.

The Centenary Celebration Committee invites you to join the inaugural event as well as the other subsequent events and the Centenary Lectures that will take place over the first few months of the coming year 2022.

(Dr Sudip Ghosh) Chairman of the Committee & Head of ME Department (Dr Bidyut Pal) Convener of the Committee & Prof-in-Charge of SME, ME Department

Contact: hod@mech.iiests.ac.in, Ph: +91 (33) 2668 4561/62/63 (Ext. 279)

Date: 26 Dec 2021







- Inaugural Ceremony: 28th December 2021
- Centenary Lecture Series: On various themes of Mechanical Engineering (Weekly invited lecture; initially planned for 10 weeks; may be extended on popular demand and depending on the availability of speakers). The first Centenary Lecture is planned on the inaugural day.
- Industrial R&D Workshops: A few one-day workshops to be organized by the student chapters of various professional bodies attached to the department (viz. ISHRAE, SAE,ASME, IMechE) as well as faculty groups, during Jan-Mar 2022.
- Impetus 5: The technical fest of the department, organized by the Society of Mechanical Engineers (SME), the student society of the department. Various events (mostly in February 2022) under Impetus 5.0 are given below.
 - 1. CAD Modelling + 3D Printing Based competition
 - 2. Yantra search Treasure Hunt
 - 3. Event by ISHRAE
 - 4. Bengineur (in collaboration with EDC) B-plan Event
 - 5. Trade Assemble building complete models from shuffled sets
 - 6. General Technical Quiz
 - TrustMe (using mobile applications) building Trusses and simple machines
 - 8. Gaming Event
 - 9. INDUSTRY ACADEMIA MEET





Chief Patron: Prof. Dr. Parthasarathi Chakrabarti, Director, IIEST Shibpur

Patrons: Prof. Subhasis Bhaumik, Dean - Planning and Development
Prof. Sudip Kr. Roy, Dean - Academic
Prof. Arindam Biswas, Dean - International Relations and Alumni Affairs
Prof. Debabrata Mazumder, Dean - Student Welfare
Prof. Prasanta Kumar Nandi, Dean - Faculty Welfare
Prof. Hafizur Rahaman, Dean - Research and Consultancy

Centenary Celebration Committee

- 1. Dr. Sudip Ghosh, Chairman and Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering
- 2. Prof. Bijan Kumar Mandal, Member, Professor-in-charge of ISHRAE student chapter
- 3. Prof. Partha Pratim Dey, Member, Professor-in-charge SAE of student chapter
- 4. Dr. Aritra Ganguly, Member, Joint Professor-in-charge of SAE student chapter
- 5. Dr. Uttam Rana, Member, Professor-in-charge of ASME student chapter
- 6. Dr. Santanu Das, Member, Professor-in-charge of IMechE student chapter
- 7. Dr. Naresh Chandra Murmu, Member, Alumnus of the Dept.
- 8. Mr. Sankhadeep Mukherjee, Member, Alumnus of the Dept.
- 9. Mr. Rahul Ghosh, Member, Alumnus of the Dept.
- 10. Mr. Ramanuj Bhattacharya, Member, Alumnus of the Dept.
- 11. Mr. Aritra Chatterjee, Member, Alumnus of the Dept.
- 12. Mr. Ankur Jha, Member, Alumnus of the Dept.
- 13. Dr. Bidyut Pal, Convener, Professor-in-charge of SME